Children Are Our Role Models

I have spent my whole adult life with children–aiding, being a stay-at-home mom, and teaching. On occasion I have wondered what my life would have been like if I had taken a different career path. Who knows? But there is one thing of which I am sure. I would not be the person I am today. Children are role models for how we should live our lives.

Children are hoping, believing, engaged, contributing, loving, creative, forgiving, enthusiastic, exuberant, unafraid, humble, trusting, and I could go on and on. How could we ever learn these things without children? They are our role models.

Jesus said children were our role models of faith. When his disciples tried to keep the children away from him, Jesus became livid, “Don’t push these children away. Don’t ever get between them and me. These children are at the very center of life in the kingdom. Mark this: Unless you accept God’s kingdom in the simplicity of a child, you’ll never get in.” (The Message, Mark 10:13)

And another time, he warned them: “…if you give [the children] a hard time, bullying or taking advantage of their simple trust, you’ll soon wish you hadn’t. You’d be better off dropped in the middle of the lake with a millstone around your neck. Doom to the world for giving these God-believing children a hard time! (The Message, Matthew 18:6)

What a humbling and sobering warning! I try to take this warning seriously as I learn and grow with my students. (And praise God for his grace when I make mistakes.)

Overall, today I am just feeling so lucky to be spending my career with children.

5 thoughts on “Children Are Our Role Models

  1. I completely agree. It took me until I was 29 to figure this out… I tried other careers, but none match the rewards given by students to teachers!

  2. Thanks, Laura, for stopping in and leaving your mark on my blog post. It is a lovely career we have chosen, isn’t it?

    Denise

  3. Dear Denise,

    I thank you for writing this post. I have learned so much from all of my students and children. Everyday I cherish the moments with my own kids, and what I learn from them.

    I also know that my job is my God given calling. I joke with others that it reminds me of the Blues Brothers, because I’m on a mission from God. In all seriousness, I am blessed by serving others, and have learned how from my time with the students.

    Kind regards,
    Tracy

    1. Thanks, Tracy, for visiting and commenting. I love that image of being on a mission from God. I’ll have to remember that, as well. I laughed when I saw the reference to the Blues Brothers. I remember a couple of guys who used to do skits about the BBs when I was in college, but I have never seen the movies. (I could pick the out from any line up though.)

      We do have much to learn from children about servanthood, don’t we? They are so willing to help.

      Thanks again,
      Denise

  4. I am a student at the University of South Alabama. I am an elementary education major. It is such a blessing to her that you are able to use your classroom as a mission field. Children are truly a blessing and we can learn so much from them. I completely agree with you that they are our role models! If only we could have their positive attitudes and loving nature. Thank you for the explain you are providing for your students and students like me that are to be teachers.

Comments are closed.