Day 23 Slice of Life – Me

Today’s inspiration came from Margaret Simon. Lanny Ball shared it on today’s Slice of Life post. I’m glad I ventured over to Louisiana to take Margaret’s challenge. I wrote a poem about me, inspired by her sweet “Peep Eye” poem in Bayou Song: Creative Explorations of the South Louisiana Landscape.

Me

Rapid-talking
Same for walking

Cookie-baking
Norm-breaking

Sometimes-writing
Always-delighting

All-the-games-playing
Attention-straying

Dinner-cooking
Silver-lining-looking

Hand-soaping
Ever-hoping

Dream-raising
God-praising

Just Me
Trying to be

8 thoughts on “Day 23 Slice of Life – Me

  1. Denise,
    I love how you took my prompt and turned it into this wonderful poem about you! Thanks. It does my little teacher-poet heart good. I’m with you on hand-soaping and ever-hoping! Keep writing!

    1. Oh, thank you, Margaret. I’m glad you found it. Thanks for the encouragement too. I loved listening to you read “Peep Eye.”

  2. I love this! I love how this reveals so much about you, and manages to have such a fun rhythm and rhyme to it as well. So nice to meet you!

  3. This is really nice! I love all the descriptions you chose! 🙂 ~JudyK

Comments are closed.