Teardrops

wet
release
sob and squall
so freedom flows
a cleansing fresh start
weep and wail, grieve and groan
lacrimal lamentation
bawl and blubber in sad mourning
howling in hilarity and joy
tears are mending lubricants of healing

Today’s prompt is by Jon Batiste. The song for today is “Teardrops” composed by Cory Wong and Jon. The prompt was about describing the purpose of crying. I wrote an Etheree about tears.

Today is Thursday, Day 100 in Bahrain, day 65 of The Isolation Journals with Suleika Jaouad.

2 thoughts on “Teardrops

  1. Denise, when you were sharing the beginning of your presentation on Teachers Connect, I felt some of those tears come down my own face. You were so strong and sure and spoke so eloquently that I wished I could speak like you. Thank you – again and again – for being a huge mentor in my life.

  2. Joy,
    Thank you so much. I appreciate that, and I can echo you in that I learn so much from you. Thank you for your leadership in being antiracist and coming to terms with your whiteness. I’m learning from you, my sister.

Comments are closed.