Nature Provides Answers

It’s hot and humid in Bahrain, the high temperature is above 100 F most all the days, now and into the foreseeable future. Today’s prompt for The Isolation Journals was to think about a time when nature provided the answer to a pressing question. For some reason, I thought back to February. Not February in Bahrain, where the average temperature is about 70 F, but I thought right away about a February in Iowa eight years ago. It’s been a long time since I’ve longingly thought of winter in Iowa.

It was one of those cold clear nights, with just the right wind and humidity conditions for hoarfrost to accumulate. The next morning was so beautiful. I had a twenty-minute drive to get to school, and I was pushing the limits to get there on time even when I stepped out of my house. When I finally did rush out, I saw the rising sun shining on the dead plants in my herb garden and every other surface in my yard, I just paused in awe and wonder. I decided to stop to take some photos and told myself, “Oh, well, I’m going to be late.” It was quite out of character for me to be late, but I didn’t care.

There wasn’t really a pressing question that day, at least not one that was articulated. But choosing to be late that day has, over the years, been a reminder of sorts to “take time to stop and smell the roses.”

Sometimes we need to stop and just not be so busy. However, it’s not like I had an “a-ha” moment that day, and then changed my whip-frenzy pace and lifestyle. No, it actually got worse a couple years later when I moved to Bahrain. Here, there is never a snow day. (Snow days are a great gift of God, a gift of rest for the weary.)

He says to the snow, ‘Fall on the earth,’
and to the rain shower, ‘Be a mighty downpour.’

So that everyone he has made may know his work,
he stops all people from their labor.

Job 37:6-7

Even holidays here are filled with activities at church, so there really aren’t even metaphorical snow days.

So, today I remembered that pause in February of 2012. Somehow it reminded me of this coronavirus season. The insidious virus is haunting us, stealing life from people, life that shouldn’t yet end. It is pummeling our economies and people have lost their jobs, some that will never be restored. Spousal and child abuse are on the rise, as is drug and alcohol abuse. Our mental health is breaking down.

However, I can’t help but think of my life before the virus and after. Before, my life was out-of-control, never a moment that I felt I could stop my labor. I NEVER caught up. Piles built up at school until my room had literally become a fire hazard.

I think the quarantine gave me a chance to breathe, to recharge and refresh. It saved my sanity in February. I needed a break, and it gave me new priorities that I hope live on with me into the future. Of course, enough is enough and I pray every day for us to get through this chapter safely. However, perhaps this season is a chance for the world to reevaluate its priorities.

Today is Saturday, Day 130 in Bahrain’s coronavirus time, day 95 of The Isolation Journals with Suleika Jaouad. Today’s prompt is by Azita Ardakani and is quite simple and her writing was so powerful, elegant, and beautiful. It made me love dandelions more. “Write about a time when you had a pressing question and nature provided the answer.”