Right Now

March 1, 2021

Right now, I am: 

  • sitting at my dining room table “desk”
  • taking notes about ideas to write 31 posts this month
  • cataloguing Terje’s engaging ideas
  • getting inspired
  • coming to write my 1 March post
  • giving myself permission to believe I can do Slice of Life again
  • breaking for a piece of chewing gum because that hummus I just made had way too much garlic
  • smiling that I just received notification an hour early that a student joined my Zoom class
  • feeling the weight of too many one year covid-versaries this week
  • noticing my “desk” looks the same as 2020 except on opposite sides of the table
  • photographing my table
  • sending it to myself in email
  • inserting the photo into this post
  • listening to the doves and pigeons outside my windows
  • grateful I can hear, see, taste, smell and touch
  • anticipating great reading and writing this month through SOL
  • interrupting my writing to take some hummus to my neighbor
  • checking my email to see if I have a response about when to send the spelling bee information to the 53 students who signed up
  • needing clarification about something else Bee-related, so will wait on that
  • hoping for a brighter 2021
  • breathing deeply and prayerfully
  • seeing the dirty dishes from making the hummus
  • washing the dishes
  • settling back to finish this post
  • hearing the timer go off telling me it’s time to make a pot of tea for my hubby’s meeting
  • pressing “publish,” excited it’s March!

10 thoughts on “Right Now

  1. Ah, the power of verbs. And of a photograph- how many of us are working , or have worked, from a dining room table?! I love the spacious feeling of time in your piece, as you gently deal with doubts, get ready, but take breaks- to get the gum, deliver the hummus, clear the dishes… until your piece is done!
    I look forward to this month with you, Denise!

    1. Thank you so much, Fran. I’m looking forward to it. It was a fun hour or so where I wrote this and pondered ideas on Terje’s blog.

  2. How wonderful that you are here. I’m glad my post gave you a little nudge. I like the little details you have included – chewing gum to counteract the garlic in hummus, listening to doves and pigeons, and making a pot of tea for your hubby’s meeting. I loved this line: giving myself permission to believe I can do Slice of Life again. It’s so powerful. I know there are some things in my life I could give myself permission to believe I can do. I join you in hoping for a brighter 2021.

    1. Thank you, Terje. As you can see, I haven’t gotten very far on your awesome list of possibilities. I stopped on number 2! Looking forward to going back to it, as I know there is a wealth of inspiration to glean.

  3. Denise,
    I love the poemish quality of this post. My favorite part is all about the humus. Too much garlic so give some to the neighbor made me chuckle. Also love seeing your writing space. My heart is full knowing you’re here this month, even if I land in comment moderation every day. 😉

    1. Thank you, Glenda! Yes, giving some to my neighbor was one of my first thoughts. Granted, I know she loves garlic, and my husband does not! I’m sure glad you are here too!

  4. So much to love in this! Reading this makes me realize just how much we do in a short amount of time. I too am hoping for a better 2021! Happy Writing!

    1. Thank you, Leigh Anne. Yes, it was amazing just how many distractions could so easily take me away from the idea I found on Terje’s blog post.

  5. I adore how hummus was woven throughout what is really a poem, not a list! Loved this! Happy SOLSC!!

Comments are closed.