Freedom to Admit Defeat

Day 17

Today I woke up with another yo-yo day planned. DIBELS screening for second graders, followed by two more Grade 11 Sociology classes. However, I woke up early and remembered that I had not prepared the Slides for the screening, which has to be done in a Zoom breakout room.

I hate to admit defeat against my calendar and my neglected to-do lists, but today I had to. I couldn’t go to school and pick up the test papers and get the Slides ready by period 1, so I was able to excuse myself. It is one of the good things about being a volunteer. If it happened last year, I would have killed myself to get it done, even if haphazardly and incomplete. But everything will be fine. Everything would have been fine last year, too, but it hurts my ego to not be on top of things. I don’t like to admit defeat.

However, I have had a good and stress-free day, with more time to work on video editing for church and my Ethical ELA Quick Write poem today called the Arabic form by Marwa Helal. (And I didn’t get the Slides ready!)

If you haven’t heard of the poetry going on over at Ethical ELA, you should check it out. In April, we will write a poem each day. I started in 2020, and it has been great for my soul. (Thank you, Glenda!) Learn more and subscribe here.

10 thoughts on “Freedom to Admit Defeat

  1. Thanks for the reminder! I need to look into the poetry again. I did it for a while, but then life got crazy-busy in the way you’ve described!

  2. I agree it is sometimes hard to admit when I can’t do everything! Thanks for the reminder. I will check out the poetry site, but I am no poet!

    1. Teri, I said the same thing last year about not being a poet. Now, I hardly believe I have written almost a hundred poems this year!

  3. Loved this post because I too try to do all the things, but am trying to learn to let go more. It’s more important now than ever!
    Secondly, my dad is Bahraini and I love that you introduced me to a new poetic form/ movement! I write often about refusal to assimilate and be silenced (See my first Slice, Your Name Means Integrity), so I particularly appreciated that link!
    TY, TY for sharing this today.

    1. Nawal, thank you so much. Yes, letting go is healthy for us.

      That was so nice to hear your father is Bahraini. The people here have been such a blessing–so hospitable, kind and open. It has been a privilege living here. Yes, I love Marwa’s reason for writing the poem right to left! Only celebration that she can write both directions and most of her critiques, undoubtedly, could not.

  4. What does it it mean to do everything? Is that even humanly possible? One of the hardest lessons to learn is the world keeps spinning w/ out us. My ninth grade speech teacher always said, “No one is indispensable” Of course that was before RBG and teacher shortages. Still, those slides can wait. You’ve earned life at a slower pace.

    And thanks for the shout out.

    1. I love your “No one is indispensable”–of course that was before RBG and teacher shortages. So hilarious, and sad. Yes, our dear RBG. She tried so hard to hold on. Yes, I’ve learned some lessons these past few days. I have things to part with.

  5. This is definitely the silver lining of being a volunteer – not feeling that weight of responsibility! Sounds like you had a great day. Wasn’t it challenging to write for EthicalELA and SOLSC for five days? Wow, it was for me! Loved it, though.

    1. Yes, Maureen, it was challenging! In fact, I didn’t make it with the fifth day of SOLSC. But I’m going to start owning that volunteer status even more. I need to part with some things–starting with the expectations I hold for myself.

Comments are closed.