Fill the Well

Today’s Slice of Life at TwoWritingTeachers.org, 27 July 2021

Fill the well.
Meditate.
Grace.
Play.
Be.
A human being.
Human doing can wait awhile.
Rest.

I’ve had a couple of busy weeks, and today I am relaxing and taking time to be.

One thing I did to start my day, though, was watch a video from Kate Messner for Teacher’s Write. I’m glad I went back to this Week 2 event and watched the recording because I wasn’t able to join for the live event. Authors Linda Sue Park, Linda Urban, Tracey Baptiste and Jen Vincent joined  Kate Messner to share specific ways to experience that grace and filling the well of our beings after a difficult year.

14 thoughts on “Fill the Well

  1. I can’t help but notice that your last post was titled “paralysis” and this is “fill the well.” That says so much.
    I like the line ‘human doing can wait awhile. Rest.’ It reminds me of a Vespers meditation- what is not done today can remain undone. Thank you for this beautiful reminder to refill and rest.

    1. Thank you, Fran. I love that: “what is not done today can remain undone” because it will remain undone and all will be well, won’t it. It’s good when we just live in that reality instead of stressing about it.

  2. Denise, such powerful reminders to take the time to be. To notice things, to feel the breeze, to think of beautiful memories and to be present in this one right now. To live – not just to exist!

  3. Well timed, this is just what I needed to read today- struggling with anxiety and I need to slow it down. How did I miss that there was a video? So excited to watch it, as the timing live did not work for me either. Thank you for your words and wisdom.

  4. “Filling the well of our beings” is a phrase next to “nurturing our summer souls” that I have needed to feel less guilty about not wanting to do and just wishing to be.

    1. Terje, yes, isn’t it strange that doing is more rewarded in day-to-day life. It reminds me of the story of Mary sitting at Jesus’ feet listening to his words, and his sister was running around doing, doing, doing. Jesus said Mary had chosen the one important thing. (Luke 10:38-42)

  5. Such important advice, Denise – and something we know deep down but fail to put in practice as we should. “Human being/Human doing can wait awhile” – oh the layers and absolute truth in those lines! Love that. Thank you!

  6. I hope what I am doing these days is filling the well. Time is running out. We start school on August 6th, but starting today there are many PD webinars to watch. Argh! Will they fill my well or make me feel disgruntled about the coming year?

    1. Margaret, wow! You start on August 6th! Enjoy your next ten days! I hope they can go long and lingering into a peaceful new school year for you. All the best.

Comments are closed.