Poetry Friday – Inktober / Poemtober, Small Poems Week 3

16 October, Saturday

Jesus napped in the windstorm
No compass needed for his route
to invite friends’ faith to transform.

17 October, Sunday

I love when languages
collide and I hear cognates
in Hindi, Spanish, and Arabic–
kashyu, teléfono and limun

18 October, Monday

Fickle moon,
what shape
will you take
today?

19 October, Tuesday
(“My Mother’s Eyes” prompt by Andy Schoenborn at Ethical ELA)

After Marjorie Agosin

I

My husband’s eyes
Are pools of hope
Where falls
Sing, dreaming of a tomorrow
Where kindness
Comes to rest
Where raindrops are friends
Of his nourishing stories

II

My husband’s eyes
Are pools of hope,
Of waves simply
Trying to find their way
In a new chapter.
I approach them
And on the threshold of his eyes
She is looking
For herself in the green streams
That forever flow

In my husband’s eyes
I also encounter myself
Because into them
I loop, basking
Again and again
As I have found my own
pools of hope.

20 October 2021, Wednesday
Sevenling (Somebody’s Daughter)

Somebody’s daughter–a sprout
of hope–vulnerable, bountiful,
and strong.

Relationships of imperfect perfection,
being loved in her truth telling,
an introspective and worthy storyteller.

Ashley C. Ford writes a memoir.

21 October, Thursday
A Lazy Sonnet about Addie LaRue

starkness
fuzzy
Darkness
was he?

Addie LaRue
strife
breakthrough
life

bookshop
remembered
backdrop
dismembered

coping.
hoping.

22 October, Friday
A Wedding Memory

Gift of words to each other.
Your hearts open between you.
Thankful to witness the adoration.

Today’s Poetry Friday roundup is over at Jama Rattigan’s blog, Jama’s Alphabet Soup. Enjoy an October cup of hot chocolate and a beautiful pumpkin cookie with her and other Poetry Friday friends.

14 thoughts on “Poetry Friday – Inktober / Poemtober, Small Poems Week 3

  1. Denise, you have been busy with your poetic compositions. Your compass poem is endearing. I do love it as I truly enjoyed the poems about your husband (of those, I thought #1 was so touching). I look forward to more of your Inktober poems. Please send me an offering or two for my Bedecked in Autumn Gallery.

  2. These are so thoughtful Denise – I love the variety of themes and forms you’ve used. The wedding pairs so wonderfully with your poem about your husband – perspectives from two different stages in relationships. Thanks for sharing these today!

  3. Lovely to see what you wrote this week. I especially like the husband’s eyes poem — very endearing and loving. 🙂

  4. I want to come back and read your poems at a slower pace, to marinate in your words and lines and tempos. I like how you are using the list in this different way. I bet it is helpful as a prompt even if the idea doesn’t pop up immediately. Plus there is so much variety here of topic and style. Lovely.

  5. What a lovely little journey through your days, Denise! The moon one especially calls to me :>)

  6. I enjoyed reading all the journey, Denise. This week how can we forget that hunter’s moon? And the love shown in the poems about your husband is so wonderful, loving “Where raindrops are friends/Of his nourishing stories” – a new way to tell this, terrific!

  7. Denise, these are wonderful! I especially love the line “Gift of words to each other” which perfectly describes Poetry Friday!

  8. I love small poems and it was a delight to read yours, Denise! The ones about your husband were so full of love. Beautiful! I also especially liked the one about the moon. Thanks for sharing.

  9. There is so much here! The Lazy Sonnet, the sevenling, both forms I was unaware of. Your poems about your husband are moving, I especially liked the first “where kindness comes to rest.” There is something about eyes and the way they show kindness.

  10. Loving your moon poem, Denise, and seeing where all these words take you!

  11. Lovely collection of poems Denise. And oh that “Fickle moon” touched me as I’m a evening-moon-watcher and this week it was full. Thanks also for introducing me to the sevenling, when I slow down a bit I’d like to try it!

  12. I am giggling at the idea of a “lazy sonnet.” That sounds right up my alley. But as with all simple-looking forms, I know it must have been tricky. You captured Addie LaRue (LOVED that book) perfectly!

  13. OK, the poem with cognates colliding is brilliant! I love it. I get to teach ELL learners today and I’m so excited. They are my favorites…don’t tell!

Comments are closed.