Slice of Life – Vegan Junk Food and Prime Numbers

April 11, 2023 TwoWritingTeachers.org

Prime numbers: 2, 3, 5, 7, 11, 13, 17, 19, 23. Today, as I wrote them out, I first added the number 9. What? How long has it been since I thought of prime numbers? How soon do we forget what we know? Anyway, I did remember 3×3, so there’s that!

Today for the #Verselove prompt, we used prime numbers for the syllable count of each line. I wrote an abstract poem about homelessness>home or maybe falsehood>truth.

For my slice of life, I thought I would do what Bridget Magee is doing each week in 2023. She takes a photo from her camera roll and writes 23 words about it.

Here is my version today, two prime numbers: a collage of three photos with 23 words about them.

Mine: Brown, goopy, tasty but unwholesome

His: rainbow of veggies, garden on a bun

Both vegan. Why do I make junk food choices?

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Slice of Life – Vegan Junk Food and Prime Numbers

  1. Denise,
    I want the answer to that question. How I wish I didn’t love junk food. And this is a clever approach to both the poetry prompt and the photo challenge. It’s a tasty combo. Love the photos.

  2. Both delights are vegan, doesn’t that make them healthy, lol? I enjoyed this so much!

  3. Denise, your lunch looks delicious. I was thankful we had the list of prime numbers. You know I can’t figure math out…..but it was fun writing these and I love your adventure hat!!

  4. What a creative prompt with the pictures and 23 words! And it goes well with the prime number prompt! I love the line, “garden on a bun”.

  5. So creative, Denise, this slice of story-poetry in 23 words, and I love these photos! I am laughing at taking 9 out of the mix, for of course it isn’t prime, and I left it in mine without even thinking. But. I like 9 (it’s a fun number) and the original nonet reference on Ethical ELA must’ve stuck. Poetic license -!! I love the lightheartedness of your verse and continue to admire your healthy choices. You are always an inspiration.

  6. Because junk food is delicious, lol! It’s hard making good choices. But maybe you try his selection next time!

  7. You packed a lot of punch (in the gut?) into your 23 words, Denise! Love both the goopy and the garden in your poem and pictures. And you and your husband’s smiles are everything. Thanks for sharing your slice with me. 🙂

  8. What is the choice you made, “brown, goopy, tasty but unwholesome?” Your husbands choice is clear, those layers tell it all!
    Your poem using primes is powerful; I just finished reading Tracy Kidder’s book about Dr. Jim O’Connell, Rough Sleepers Dr. Jim O’Connell’s Urgent Mission to Bring Healing to Homeless People. It is a partial success story but tragic, nonetheless.

    1. Thank you, Trish, for letting me know about the book. It sounds powerful. I’ve added Rough Sleepers to my TBR list. That was vegan pastrami, sauerkraut, vegan cheese and some other vegan sauce. Who knows what is in all those vegan things (seitan)? I don’t think they are any healthier than their non-veg partners. But they are cruelty-free, so there’s that!

Comments are closed.