13 & 14 DFABW – Xenial and Dream

Instead of looking back with regret
wishing I would have done this or that
differently, maybe been more productive
Instead of me pilfering moments from yesterday,
I choose to grasp each remaining hour ahead,
like a forger of dreams
embracing the steel sighs of this life
holding to the hardware hope of love

Well, I want to keep thinking and responding to the words in our Dictionary for a Better World, but I have been neglecting to spend much time on it. Here is my quick write offering today using the prompt on Xenial to write this poem. And with tenacity, I will be back tomorrow!


During each day in the months of August and September, I am responding to a different word from Dictionary for a Better World: Poems, Quotes, and Anecdotes from A to Z by Irene Latham and Charles Waters, illustrated by Mehrdokht Amini.  Yesterday’s word was Xenial. Today’s word is Dream. A small group of people wanting to make the world a better place are reading and responding together. Join us! Visit Common Threads: Patchwork Prose and Verse by Kim Haynes Johnson for more information. Here is the word list I’ll be following for August and September.

One thought on “13 & 14 DFABW – Xenial and Dream

  1. Denise, there is so much wisdom and hope in your poem. I love the other side form here – looking ahead instead of looking back. It is a medicinal way of savoring moments, not basking in the stale ones of yesterday. Holding to the hardware hope of love is a line that will stay with me….the hardware hope of love…..love as a toolbox of remedies for restoring hope…..it’s lovely! I’m so glad you’re on this journey through the dictionary! And I like the way you are combining two words into each blog.

Comments are closed.