Poetry Friday – On the Road Poems

Today is Poetry Friday. Janice Scully at Salt City Verse is hosting us today, patiently waiting for her flowers, as well as some gems from Picture Perfect Poetry. 

Newberry Volcanic National Monument

This week I’ve been on the road with my husband, my younger daughter, and her husband. We are seeing so many wonders and beauties of nature.

There was at least one bit of nature that wasn’t so beautiful, though. The western tent caterpillar. We had spent the afternoon hiking around the Newberry Volcanic National Monument, where the caterpillars of the western tent moth were ubiquitous. They begin to wrap themselves up in community tents when they first hatch into a 1/8 inch caterpillar, their first of seven moltings. We learned more details about the moth from the ranger–that they are a nuisance more than a destroyer, moths live their whole adult life in four days, they have many attackers–parasites and predators–and most larvae don’t make it to adulthood. We were grossed out by seeing them along the trails. We even continued to see them as we drove down the highways.
So far on our trip, when we get back to the car after seeing something amazing, I have been asking my family to give me words to describe what we saw. When we got into the car this time, I asked them to give me words–but not about the beauty of the glaciers and volcanic mountains in the distance or the otherworldly, gigantic lava beds we were hiking through. Instead, I asked for words to describe the western tent moth larva that had just been revolting us. Here’s what they said:

*Western Tent Moth Larva* • driven • brevity of life • deadlines • developing • independent • target on its back • prolific • stanky • ambitious • instinctual • clustered • crowded • squiggly • squirmy • restless • busy • unsettling • unsettled • paranoid • pre-metamorphosis • web of busyness • time is short • colorful

That night I suggested, “I have a bedtime activity. Let’s each write a haiku about the tent moth caterpillar.” I sent them the words and photos in our WhatsApp group. They are such good sports; everyone wrote their own haiku and shared it:
Katie: Unsettling cluster Brevity of life, thank God Stanky little worms Thomas: You know what I think What is more stank than one worm A million worms Keith: Brevity of life Restless merging into prolific Life is too driven Denise: Clustered web of larvae Instinctual ambition Time is short, slow down

Then the next morning, I finished up the collection of Jack Gilbert poems I’ve been reading. I came to a poem called, “The Sixth Meditation: Faces of God.” Jack Gilbert speaks of all of creation being made in the image of God–“rocks and galaxies, mathematics and rust” “slugs and grubs, nematodes…” And “Tent caterpillars, high in the trees, swarm out from their offensive shrouds to eat the green luxury bare.” What imagery!

I definitely prefer Genesis 1:27’s version, though, that says it’s humans who have been made in the image of God, not all those other stanky creatures.

"tent caterpillars, high in the trees, swarm out from their offensive shrouds to eat the green luxury bare" By Jack Gilbert

19 thoughts on “Poetry Friday – On the Road Poems

  1. Denise, first of all, bravo to whoever donated the word STANKY! Collecting words and using them later to write haikus is brilliant. What a fun activity and great way to reflect on what you observed and learned!

  2. What a WONDERFUL post with many threads weaving together…love how your reading of Jack Gilbert wrapped up with those offensive little beasts. I love listening to Elizabeth Gilbert read her work, ‘Big Magic’ and hearing her describe the Jack Gilbert she never met. He and his work seem to be something that has six degrees of separation or less with more than just you! Fun and perfect for Poetry Friday.

  3. and, and, and…what a great list of words your family gave you with the individual haiku. Just delightful. What a perfect experience for a poet. Thanks so much for sharing with us!

  4. I love this post and the fact that your family played along and wrote haiku with you. What a wonderful idea to collect words on your trip. I imagine you’ll have quite a list to draw from.
    Happy travels!

  5. Denise I am kind of in love with this practice of collecting words and your family’s willingness to play along with the poetry. Fabulous!! xo

  6. This gives an entirely new depth to “Family Game Night.” I love the distinction the game warden draws between “destroyer” and “nuisance.” We sometimes find it difficult not to want to eradicate the nuisance factor: their life-spans already do that in due(short) time. “Brevity of life…slow down.” Indeed!

  7. Your family’s got me rolling over here. 🤣 I mean, STANKY little worms?! Jack Gilbert’s “offensive shroud” may be a smidge more elegant, but STANK shouts its disgust with a full voice. Safe travels to you and your beloveds.

  8. “And the spirit we are is not separated from it”

    This perhaps is the best reminder? Incredible post, Denise. Thank you!

  9. Like everyone else commenting, I love your family’s willingness to join in and the fun results. Last night, my older daughter was talking about her recent cicada experiences and I think she and her neighbors have some strong, haiku-worthy feelings about them.

  10. Road trip as poetry prompt — I love it! Such a great post, Denise (other than feeling all creepy-crawly from those caterpillar pictures, ew! :D)

  11. Tent caterpillars are icky! I used to see them as a child growing up, those white nests in the crooks of tree branches. What a fun family activity to urge family members to write a haiku! I’ll have to remember that next time I visit my family.

  12. Denise, your road trip has proved quite poetically productive. Apart from the sights you have seen, you managed to nurture into being, a host of haiku, by engaging your family. That’s most impressive. The Jack Gilbert quote is a stunner

  13. It seems that you’ve found a new family activity and what a lovely one it is, despite the “stanky Tent caterpillars”. Considering those special words, “To everything there is a purpose. . .” and on, doesn’t it make you wonder what good they bring to the earth. Every bit you shared sounds like lots of fun, Denise, including just being in that beautiful place!

  14. What a wonderful trip – stanky caterpillars and all. I love that your family played along. and wrote with you.

  15. I’m so enjoying the poetry of your fabulous family in action. What lovely mementos you’re creating along your journey! (Also, how amazing to find that quote about tent caterpillars in your book the next day! I imagine your jaw dropped.)

  16. What a moment — to find something as random as tent caterpillars in your book the very next day after experiencing them in real life. (They are exceptionally gross critters. They wouldn’t be so bad one at a time, but the swarms and the tents. Yuck.)

  17. I love that your family is willing to play this wonderful poetry game! These caterpillars are fascinating–they are like a pattern all moving together like that.

  18. What a glorious road trip game! You’ve really got your whole family looking more closely at and thinking about the things you’re seeing together. Fabulous! Thank you for sharing everyone’s haiku. Those communal tents…eeeuuuuwww!

  19. “Time is short, slow down,” I am learning the truth about this statement, Denise. This pause period in my life is certainly making me aware of what recovery entails. Your post gave me time to think. Thanks for all the information and the adult game you played with your family. How special to travel with your family and share the experience of sharing poetry.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *