Slice of Life – A Road Trip Abecedarian

4 June 2024 TwoWritingTeachers.org

Our road trip is winding down. After a lovely two-week trip of fresh fields and leaping streams, we’re on the road home today. I came to share a trinet poem by my daughter about the beautiful Tumalo Falls near Bend, Oregon, and an abecedarian grid that we all contributed to.

Powerful melt
Loud, strong
Solid snow turned to dangerous flow
White noise background music for hiking
Wild, crisp
Tumalo Falls

By Katie

A Road Trip Abecedarian Grid

Applegate River

Banana slugs and Bend and Birthday party

Crater Lake and Corkscrew tree

Deschutes River and Dudley’s Book Store

Elk

Fried Egg I’m in Love

Golden Mantle Squirrel and Gelato

High Desert Museum and Haystack Rock

Ice cream and ice and snow

Jacksonville, Oregon

Kinney Creek

McKee Bridge

Lava Beds

Mariners, Milo and many Mountains

Newberry Volcanic National Monument

Ocean on the Oregon coastline

Portland and Pilot Butte and Pike’s Place Market

 

Quality time together

Rhododendrons, Redwoods and Raptors

Sourdough and Co. and Seattle

Tov Egyptian Coffee, Tent Caterpillars and Tumalo Falls

 

 

Unbelievable sites & Umpqua National Forest

Views and vistas

Waterfalls and winding roads, Water Taxi to West Seattle,
Winning weather
eXcellent company

Yarn bombed tree in Bend

Zoological wonders and zigzagging wind surfer

 

9 thoughts on “Slice of Life – A Road Trip Abecedarian

  1. Denise,
    I love the collective poem w/ pictures accompanying it. I have two big trips coming up, one in July and the other in September, and I’m stealing this idea as a way to recount my excellent adventures. And those waterfalls are amazing. Your trip sounds as though it was lots of fun. Did you go to Powell’s Vity of Books in Portland? It’s my favorite bookstore.

  2. WOW!! What a fabulous way to capture this amazing trip. I started out as a kindergarten teacher so I am a sucker for all things A-B-C. But this is brillaint!! So glad you captured your trip in this creative way. Thanks for sharing. I really need to travel to the Pacific Northwest!

  3. What great photos and words to capture the wonders of your trip! I loved seeing many of those beautiful places during the years I lived in the Pacific Northwest. I’d love to visit them again. I’m sure there would be another whole alphabet to write!

  4. I love your catalogue of my neck of the woods. (I have terrific photos of Tumalo Falls and can almost smell the sun-warmed pine.) You made it to Cannon Beach, I see, so maybe you drove through Newport, depending on your route. This looks like a wonderful time for all from start to finish. I love the literary theme throughout. Thanks, Denise, for sharing.

  5. A good format for catching lots of memories! I love your format with the photos. And kudos to the photographer who captured that raptor!!!

  6. I hope you make a photo book with all the pictures and poems from this wonderful trip. I love how you got everyone writing. I’m sure it made them all more attentive.

  7. Denise, what great pictures and wonderful words to commemorate your trip. I admit that I am a sucker for waterfalls. Your picture brought back memories of our trip to Victoria Falls.

  8. Luv the NW family tour via alpha to zeta, Denise, in choice words & views & with family contributors. Why didn’t I think of this during our similar years? B R A V A!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *