Riddle Poems for Poetry Friday

Thank you, Carol, for hosting Poetry Friday today with this lovely post at her site, The Apples in My Orchard.

I almost didn’t get anything written, but then I saw Margaret’s LaMiPoFri post. I hadn’t heard the term “Last Minute Poetry Friday” before–coined by Kat Apel in this sweet post. Now, here I am, Friday evening, needing just such a concept. I had nothing except a conversation with my husband this morning over tea/coffee. So, in honor of LaMiPoFri, I decided to write a poem about that conversation.

Yesterday in an email from Dictionary.com, the subject line read: What 3-Letter Word Has Over 600 Senses? It led to an interesting article for language lovers that identified “thirteen weird and wondrous facts about English.” My husband and I brainstormed some of the uses of the said word. I remembered the following poem I wrote in April where the title was important to the poem, but I saved it for the end of the poem to read afterwards. Try it…

Put it on the table
A staging of a fable

Donkey deity in the desert
Matching pants and shirt

Pieces in a collection
Go in that direction

Arrange the type for print
Vinegar will keep the tint

Pick it up and make it right
A string of LED lights

Hunting dog points
Relocate bones and joints

Concrete gets hard
Groups that score in cards

Earth’s star sleeps
That camera pose keep

Part of a tennis match
A whole cohesive batch

Start a campfire
A car’s new tires

Get ready and into the blocks
All the tools in your box

Your heart yearns for that
A suit with a matching hat

Pieces played in the band
Moving the clock’s hands

Direction of the wind
Rows of teeth above your chin

Choose a wedding date
Fix the value at a rate

We could go on for days and days
There are four-hundred, thirty ways

To use my little title word
Three letters–how absurd!

Double click or highlight the title after the colon: Set

Here is another riddle poem.  The title is at the end…

What Word Am I?

To the right and left,
Around and through,
To and from, in and out,
Up and down, forward and back,
How many ways to unpack
Just three little letters?

  • Depleted supply
  • Will surely pass by
  • Working mousetrap
  • Water at the tap
  • Do, re, mi, fa, so, la, tees
  • A prisoner flees
  • Crash into a pole
  • Health in the hole
  • Gallop and lope
  • A candidate’s hope
  • Duration of a show
  • Lies of a beau
  • Sequence of cards
  • A narrow dog yard
  • Blood veins flowing
  • Rich to poor going
  • Do a quick task
  • Tip over the flask
  • Cheap shirt’s dye weeps
  • The friends you keep
  • Manage a shop
  • Reboot the laptop
  • Drip from your nose
  • Ruined panty hose
  • Unraveling sock
  • Faster than a walk

They say there are 600 ways–
But I’m running out of plays.
What is my poem about?
Just a little word that shouts!
But 600 ways? I doubt!

Double click or highlight the title after the colon: Run

Here is the interesting article I read. I saved it for down here, so you could try my riddle before looking at the article: “Say What? 13 Weird, Wondrous Facts About English

14 thoughts on “Riddle Poems for Poetry Friday

  1. LOL! That was fun! Oh, my goodness…you pulled all that together at the last minute? Pretty good job, Denise! That word with 600 senses….yowsa! I love how you had a ball with this post. Thank you!

  2. Really, Denise?! This is not a last-minute post in my book! You wow’d me! I love this form and I am a lover of words so naturally, I’ll have to go and read the article you linked as well! I am going to share the second poem with my writer’s circle students next week – at our last meeting – while we are having ice cream! I’m wondering if they can guess what it is! Thanks!

  3. Wow! I think it would have taken me a month to write all that, plus make it rhyme. Fantastic job! Thanks for sharing this fun post!

  4. That’s a fun form to play with, not dissimilar to the “Water Can Be” idea that Laura Shovan borrows today from Laura Purdie Salas! Way to LaMiPoFri! (That’s almost always how I do it.)

  5. Brilliant! I love teaching multiple meaning words. It seems to always gets kids’ attention that one little word could be used so many ways! Your clues were amazing.

  6. What fun riddle poems! I’m glad you had some last-minute inspiration for a LaMiPoFri post. Thanks for the link to the article – the list in fact #7 could be useful for me with English language learners.

  7. Denise, I totally forgot about LaMiPoFri until you brought it up. What a great way to compose a poem? And such great poems. I must read the article and reread your poems.

  8. Denise, I have to do this with my students. They will love trying to figure out the word and creating poems like this. Your LaMiPoFri is priceless. Thanks!

Comments are closed.