Another World

Today’s Slice of Life at TwoWritingTeachers.org, 17 August 2021

Another World

Would you believe it, little one?
There is more in your future.
More to enjoy, to embrace, to learn.
A whole world awaits — vast and immeasurable.

For now, you are warm and cozy.
You feel this is all there is–
rocking, swaying with the rhythm
nestled in the glow of her heart.

But you will be disrupted soon.
You will come out kicking,
demanding attention,
attempting to make sense of the chaos.
It will take you a lifetime

To realize you can’t make sense
of the chaos.
You weren’t made for…
disappointments
hurts
brokenness
wars
lies
abandonment
abrupt withdrawal
poverty
earthquakes
pandemics
death
protesting for freedoms never promised,
distractions from the pain.

But would you believe it, little one?
There is more in your future.
More to enjoy, to embrace, to learn.
A whole other world awaits
Uncluttered thoughts, unfettered hearts,
As inconceivable as this one once was to you
A world being prepared for your full humanity —
vast and immeasurable.

7 thoughts on “Another World

  1. I love “nestled in the glow of her heart”. I wish I could go back into a bubble and not know the things happening in our world. Yet there are still so much wonder to engage with. I am happily back to teaching.

  2. WOW. I feel myself returning to lines of your poem. It captures what I feel so often…trying to make sense of the chaos which brings one down. Yet such hope in the transitions. Thanks for sharing. I plan to print this to reread some more.

  3. Denise, you beautifully capture what so many of us feel, and despite all that is happening there is always that glimmer of hope, a hope that even Pandora’s Box held.

  4. I love the balance between the heartaches and the opportunities in this poem, the acknowledgement of good times and bad that will surely come for this little one, ending with the treasures that fill us. I think the world keeps getting bigger, generation by generation. May it ultimately lead to global understanding and peace for our descendants.

  5. I love this so much, Denise! Choosing to believe in another world.

Comments are closed.