Poetry Friday – A Date

Today’s Poetry Friday roundup is over at Irene Latham’s Live Your Poem blog. She has today’s line of the Progressive Poem, pockets full of poems, prayers and more. Thank you for hosting Irene.

Today’s #Verselove prompt is to write about a date night. Do join in if you want to draft a poem with us.

A Date

By Kevin McFadden

The first seated takes the chance he’ll be
stood up. She’s getting on with the hope she may
get off. One and one make one
in this riddle. Or, more closely, comedy routine:
first, impressions; second, observations.

I wrote a sevenling about a strange date I had with my boyfriend.

We went to that park in Long Beach
It has a beautiful walking path around a lake
I thought a break-up was imminent
We walked and then sat looking at the water
And you asked me to marry you
I was surprised and didn’t answer
Today, we both can’t remember the name of the park

Seven years later, I finally said yes.

 

11 thoughts on “Poetry Friday – A Date

  1. Wow, Denise, you have shared one that took me by surprise =. I appreciate a storytelling poem like this. And so many cheers for the love resolution for your coupleness.
    I feel I’m hungry because when I read “A Date” the K. MCFadden title, I thought it would be about an experience jumping off point…. for the fruit!

    Poetry Month Smiles to you,
    Jan/Bookseedstudio

  2. Ah, what a nice surprise, Denise, and showing the nerves in a new relationship with the early thoughts. It’s a great added tension. The earlier one fills up with nervousness, too, all over the place with thoughts of doom!

  3. LOL…that’s adorable. The name of the park–remains unknown. But, look what came from the two of you visiting. Love it.

  4. You’re a tough nut to crack, Denise! I’m happy for your happily ever after.

    PS I still haven’t been able to get unblocked from your blog with edublogs. Unsure of the problem, but trying to comment from my phone.

  5. Ooh! I have to try one of these! That twist in the final line is so fun! Glad you finally said yes 😉

  6. Thank you for the introduction to this form, which is new to me. I’ll have to give it a try. I enjoyed your storytelling poem–especially the twist.

  7. Oh my – you packed a whole lot of living into those few lines, Denise! Wow. Thanks for the introduction to this form, and an amazing example in your poem! :0)

  8. Aw, this is wonderful, Denise! And I love how the factual details, like the name of the park, fade. But the important things–the feelings–stay with us!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *