Spiritual Journey Thursday – I Bind Unto Myself

Karen Eastlund is rounding up the post today.

 

Today is Spiritual Journey Thursday, and like Margaret wrote about today, I am feeling a little unbound, unmoored, and trying to find my way in my new chapter of life. Peter, when Jesus asked if the disciples wanted to leave him, answered, “Lord, to whom shall we go? You have the words of eternal life.”  (John 6:68) I, too, don’t want to leave, so I am claiming these truths today.

I bind unto myself today
Jesus–the Life, the Truth, the Way

I bind unto myself forever
The Love that cannot from me be severed

I bind unto myself the Power
of God, the one worthy strong tower

I bind unto myself the Name
of the One who o’er me has claim

Christ be with me, Christ within me,
Christ behind me, Christ before me,
Christ beside me, Christ to win me,
Christ to comfort and restore me;
Christ beneath me, Christ above me,
Christ in quiet, Christ in danger,
Christ in hearts of all that love me,
Christ in mouth of friend and stranger.


From: I Bind Unto Myself Today

6 thoughts on “Spiritual Journey Thursday – I Bind Unto Myself

  1. Isn’t it wonderful to be able to lean on each other in addition to reading each other’s posts? I find wisdom and friendship in all the STJ posts. It brings me peace even though these are not face-to-face friendships. Thank you for the hymn to hum today.

  2. Dear Denise: Thank you for sharing these words. I have long loved them, but I don’t believe I know this hymn. Strange… I’ve sung in choir a LONG time. Haha. Now I am looking for an audio version. Thanks again, and many blessings.

  3. In these reflective words, I can feel a strengthening, a resolve; your faith offering hope and trust to anchor you during this turbulent time. Lovely!

  4. Such a beautiful, powerful reflection, Denise; I’ve a sense of clinging to the lifeline, trusting. Your couplets are mighty – I claim these truths, too <3

  5. So good, Denise! I am with you adjusting to a new place and a new life. It’s beautiful and good, but not always easy!

    I finally wrote my post today, too!

  6. Beautiful and powerful couplets. I’m not familiar with the song. Off to give it a listen. It’s joyful to gather with our SJT friends each month. I love how each and every post adds a new layer of understanding to our prompt.

Comments are closed.