March 21 – My Best Colors

March 21, 2023 TwoWritingTeachers.org

I remember when my kindergarten students learned this “Rainbow, Rainbow” song and sang it at our end of the year celebration. I loved their sweet voices, and the parents went all out–with each little group wearing a different rainbow color. Leigh Anne Eck has planned a color party during the Slice of Life. (You can participate too.  Just go to her blog, let her know you are participating, and see what others have written about their best colors.)

My best red is everything I’ve ever seen in my favorite color: fireenginecandyapple red. My eyes are captured by the reds of a lifetime. I can’t get enough. It’s always been my favorite.

Just a few red eye-catchers in my camera roll.

My best orange is the monarch butterfly, thriving and living its best migratory life with ample milkweed.

My best yellow is lemon pie filling, made with fresh January citrus from Arizona.

My best green is the ephemeral green of a California springtime. (By summer this will all be brown.)

My best blue is that sky, always that sky, (and perhaps a blue tsunami in 2024, as well.)

My best indigo is a new pair of 501 jeans in seventh grade.

My best violet is my friendship with Vinolia.

And in honor of springtime, here is a 32123 palindrome poem (for 3-21-23) that I learned about on Kim Johnson’s Slice of Life.

whispers of
tender
green
trussing
sunshined buds

I am participating in the March Slice of Life Challenge: A slice a day for all of March. Thank you, Two Writing Teachers!

12 thoughts on “March 21 – My Best Colors

  1. Denise,
    Love the grid of myriad reds. I love color, and red has always been among my favorites. I saw that grid and thought, “why didn’t I think of that.” Thought the same thing when I saw the palindrome. Of course I love that California green, too. Good choices for the color party. I’ll be fashionably late, so wait for me!

  2. You’ve got me thinking about what my best color examples would be now. I love that your best yellow is lemon pie filling. 😍

  3. Oh! I’m so glad to hear about the color party, and I love your grid of red photos–so eye-catching! Leigh Ann is the best hostess!! I’ve tucked away this idea for later in the week. It will be sure to come in handy during the l-o-n-g days of this parent-teacher conference week.

  4. I really like this idea of your favorite color items! How creative! Thanks for sharing.

  5. Denise, I love your poetry and your beautiful photographs. You are a rainbow of sunshine!

  6. It is so sweet how your writing connects with other slicers! I’m chuckling at your indigo jean memory – that’s a very special color that stayed with you. I loved all the vibrant reds! Thanks for walking us through your rainbow of joyful colors. Loved your palindrome, too.

  7. Denise, the indigo Levi’s 501 jeans from 7th grade resonate with me – – there is nothing like those jeans from the good old days. I love your best colors – especially the lemon pie filling yellow. What a fun party! I love colors – – all the colors of the rainbow! And yours bring the world alive.

  8. I love colors, and love this. Great use of the word best- my best red, etc. And I noticed how your colors took us places- those special jeans, and even to your (violet) friend! I am intrigued!

  9. My mind is still stuck on Lemon Meringue Yellow…now I’m making a Lemon Meringue Pie tomorrow with the last of my frozen fresh squeezed lemon juice. I love this color party and will check it out. Thanks. 🙂

  10. Yay! I’m glad you came to the party. I love how you used pictures to accompany your colors. (I should have thought of that!) Your January citrus intrigues me and the 501 jeans in 7th grade made me chuckle! But the best one is your Violet! 🙂

Comments are closed.