Slice of Life 19 – The ABC’s of a Day in Palm Springs #sol24

19 March 2024 TwoWritingTeachers.org
  • Amanda Gorman mural

  • Best Bookstore in Palm Springs
  • Costco for my annual eye exam
  • Double Dactyl poem before we left
  • Eye cream by Bruno. He was standing outside a skin care shop and gave me a sample of cream. Then he asked about my routine for eye care (nothing), so invited me in to treat me to a sample. It still feels stiff around my eyes. He tried to sell me a bottle for $400. After a couple other offers that sounded like QVC, he got it down to $149, before he finally gave up on me buying it. He was fascinating and funny and a really good salesman, I could tell, but I just wouldn’t buy something like that.
  • Friendly husband who makes friends wherever we go
  • Grape Nuts at Smart & Final (A 4-pound box costs $8-something, which is why I go there to buy it.)
  • Historical Society where we picked up brochures and looked at an antique postcard exhibit
  • Ice Cream for Keith–chocolate chip cookie dough. (I’m not sure why it didn’t sound good to me today, but maybe because I had just finished an extra sweet tea.)
  • Joke on the sidewalk – “I don’t want to end the year on bad terms with anyone. APOLOGIZE TO ME.”

  • Marilyn Monroe at the Palm Springs Art Museum

  • Nostalgia walking around Palm Springs – Do people even know who all these old celebrities were?
  • Oofos recovery sandals that Keith tried on at the Birkenstock store. Added to his wish list.
  • Perfume at Sephora – After nearly three months of enjoying my samples, I finally committed to choosing Light Blue by Dolce & Gabbana.

  • Quart of water at lunch, at least – three glasses full
  • Restaurant called Los Arcos for a burrito
  • Sam’s Club for Strawberries for Milo

  • Toffee sample outside a shop I’ve never looked twice at. But after the sales tactic of handing out free samples, we went inside and almost bought some. It was so delicious.
  • Unity of the human community – “We’re all made from the same 11 elements. We have more in common than we do differences.”

  • Very multi-seated pedal-powered party bike driven by Gavin, who was a very friendly and interesting person that we talked to for a while. That’s Keith with the umbrella, catching the rain that had just started.

  • Windmills on the way home, as usual.

  • Xeriscape everywhere we looked

  • Young and old crowding the streets – Spring break is in full swing in our neck of the desert
  • Zone of welcomed graffiti

 

9 thoughts on “Slice of Life 19 – The ABC’s of a Day in Palm Springs #sol24

  1. You had me at Amanda Gorman! What a wonderful romp through your trip, and I love the eye cream story 🙂

  2. You took me back to Palm Springs. Thank you! Haven’t been there in 20 years – but my husband and I love the 3 days we were there as we headed back east. I think we need to go again!

  3. I’m with Joanne. After writing from A-Z, I do want to return to Palm Springs! We visited during summer time and were so thankful our rental house had a pool. Despite the heat, we loved it all which you captured so well! Thanks for the trip on this first day of Spring! And you taught me a new word that begins with X!

  4. Denise, you’ve inspired me to make an ABC walk through my county. I have been thinking about how to bring photos of the place where I live, and this is how. I love, love, love all your pictures and the way you share the joy of the simple moments throughout the tour. Strawberry slices caught my eye – those look good. And I can say that “almost bought toffee” is real willpower, friend. I’d have bought ten bags. Toffee. is one of my favorites, and just thinking about it makes me want to go in that store. Beautiful slice!

  5. What a phenomenal post! I wish we had more than 26 letters! I loved reading about Lucy and Ricky and the million-dollar baby. I chuckled at the joke on the sidewalk. (My husband could’ve written that.) Enjoy your Grape Nuts (one of my all-time favorites) as the scent of Light Blue, the winner, creates the perfect mood. This is so much fun, and truly takes us the this desert oasis—and reminds me of the time I almost drowned there when I was three, a story I’m not sure I actually recall or has been passed on, so it’s become mine! (I do think I can “see” the resort pool with an island in the center, but…)

  6. Denise,
    This is priceless. I laughed at the eye cream sample. One tried to get me in Scottsdale yesterday. I refused the cream and went into a store. When I exited the young woman said, “but I waited for you.” I replied, “You’re going to be waiting a lot longer” and took off down the street. BTW, I have some of those same photos and have wondered the same thing about the stars.

  7. This ABC list is so fluid, natural…it just flows; I am awed. This can feel so forced for me, every time I attempt this kind of list/poem. I just loved visiting Palm Springs with you! I believe I have met your Bruno, lol; I, too, did not succumb to the $400 eye cream, as tempting as he made it seem. I had a great laugh at your joke from the sidewalk – thanks for sharing that! Fabulous, Denise.

  8. Denise, wow, I love your approach to capturing so much information connected with your trip to Palm Springs. Your photos are fantastic! Wish I was enjoying some of the treats you got to enjoy!

  9. What?! This is the coolest post ever!! I rushed to comment that I can’t wait to travel somewhere to have an excuse to copy you, but then I read Kim say she’s going to do this after taking a walk in her county… I don’t even have to travel far to do this. So, so cool. I love the pictures accompanying your post. Thank you soooooo much for this idea!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *