26-29 DFABW – Equality, Freedom, Mindfulness, Netiquette

Oh, my, it’s been four days of Dictionary for a Better World words, and I have not even opened the book until today. I’ve been busy helping lead an online workshop in the mornings and working on my house in the afternoons. Today we painted two walls, and that was all. I had a little extra time to come here.

There is primer so far on this patched wall–but the window is in!

Equality and EquityI enjoyed reading this article today. Both important words.

Freedom – I have the freedom to just read Irene’s anecdote and poem today. Sweet!

Mindfulness – a tanka

coyote crosses
sleek, lean, bushy tail, busy
looking for breakfast
What will it be today, friend?
I’ll wait while I stare at you.

Regarding Netiquette, on the Internet, I try to have good manners and be “civil to all” as Benjamin Franklin said in a quote today on page 67 in DFABW.  This list of Netiquette rules my students and I created a whopping 11 years ago seem quaint now.


During each day in the months of August and September, I am responding to a different word from Dictionary for a Better World: Poems, Quotes, and Anecdotes from A to Z by Irene Latham and Charles Waters, illustrated by Mehrdokht Amini.  Friday’s word was Equality, Saturday’s was Freedom, Sunday’s was Mindfulness, and today’s word is Netiquette. A small group of people wanting to make the world a better place are reading and responding together. Join us! Visit Common Threads: Patchwork Prose and Verse by Kim Haynes Johnson for more information. Here is the word list I’ll be following for August and September.

One thought on “26-29 DFABW – Equality, Freedom, Mindfulness, Netiquette

  1. Denise, I understand the busy schedule for sure! I struggle to keep up also – it’s a challenge juggling so many things. The words add so much to my life – I’m loving the book! Speaking of coyotes – we have them here too. Sad to say on a large farm we have to leash our dogs. Too many predators out here. That tanka got my attention ~ those wily creatures stroll through the yard in broad daylight.
    Scary. And that yip is frightening.

Comments are closed.