March 20 – Open Writing Poetry with You

March 20, 2023 TwoWritingTeachers.org

This week it is time for Ethical ELA’s Open Write. It’s always so joyful to spend time with this supportive writing community. (Lots of us are part of Slice of Life and the group that writes poetry at Open Write, like Maureen, Joanne, Kim, Glenda, Britt, Fran H., Barb, Margaret S., Molly, Heather, and me…Have I missed anyone else? Please tell me in the comments).

We meet five days a month and every day in April, when it’s called #Verselove. Below I’m posting a poem I wrote yesterday. You can join in on this week’s past prompts– Saturday, Sunday, and Monday–or join us Tuesday and Wednesday for more writing wonderfulness.

On Saturday, I wrote a whole post about the inconceivable junction between artificial intelligence and poetry. [On an aside: You may want to read the essay, published today, on Two Writing Teachers by Beth Moore, “We Need to Talk About AI Essays.” Fascinating.]

On Sunday, we wrote a Pile Poem on Canva, using a beautiful mentor poem by Amy Kay.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Amy Kay (@amykaypoetry)

Mocha Productivity Being with my love Making beautiful things A heart decluttered, yet full Being Grammy to my sweet Milo Recognizing the birds in our yard Having our house become our home Being able to sleep as long as I want Many ways to make a vegetarian Reuben The four subtle seasons of the Mojave desert These freshly washed, tightly-fitting flannel sheets Finding a treasure that I need in a second-hand store Sweet memories of a time when I had young children at home Eating mint chocolate chip ice cream while laughing with loved ones A masala tea soy latte from my kitchen delivered with love from Keith

And today, on Monday, we shared poetry on Flip (formerly Flipgrid.) Do come over and join the conversation. Find the link at the Ethical ELA site. (There is an invitation to give opinions about the use of AI in the poetry classroom.)

In April, we will have daily prompts. Please join us. If you are interesting, check out these Tips for Verseloving, created by our founder, Sarah Donovan.

I am participating in the March Slice of Life Challenge: A slice a day for all of March. Thank you, Two Writing Teachers!

11 thoughts on “March 20 – Open Writing Poetry with You

  1. Denise, I love that you are sharing this opportunity for writing through April. I hope we have a lot of Slicers come and join the party next month at VerseLove.

  2. Hi Denise! I am very intrigued by Aprils’ Verselove; as you know, I need a daily April challenge!
    It doesn’t look like you sign up, you just post a comment on the daily poetry prompts? Then comment on 3? It sounds like Slice of Life. Am I right in that interpretation?
    Thanks!!

    1. Megan, you actually compose your poem right in the comment space on Ethical ELA. As well, all the commenting happens there. That’s how it is different from Slice of Life. It’s quicker and simpler than the #SOLSC, I think. (A lot of us will also post the poems on our blog later.) I’ll look forward to seeing you there!

    2. To get the daily prompts you do sign up. I compose my poems in the notes app of my phone and copy and paste them into the comment (response) section on Ethical ELA.

  3. Good job spreading the word with Slice of Lifers on this second wonderful writing community! Now we need to get a group of writers together for a May challenge of some sort, lol.

    1. Yes, Maureen! That sounds great. 🙂 Kim was looking for a calendar of writing possibilities too, as she is blogging daily this year again.

  4. I need to read today’s article. I’ve been wanting to do just that, but I have a lot of irons in the fire today. Love your pile poem and presence on Ethical ELA. Your video today was marvelous. You need to go back to that site to see your comments I believe.

  5. Hi Denise, thank your for posting this information. I’m a little late to the game, but I do have something to look forward to in April. I liked your “four subtle seasons of the Mohave desert.” I don’t know what that looks like, but I’m curious. Thank you for sharing your pile-on poem, another structure I can play with.

  6. Denise,
    I really liked the pile on poem, but this morning I was thinking about it in ways I’ve thought about the “what did you do during summer vacation?” essays we used to assign. This has been an interesting open write month. I can’t say I’ve found joy in it, however. I’ve given lots of thought to responses to my blog posts about AI, including comments on the one I wrote in January and linked to in my post yesterday. It’s interesting to compare comments on my posts to blog posts such as this one that add to the conversation. I’m genuinely fascinated by them.

  7. Hello Denise, I read this today and left my computer open here to comment and did other things for awhile. When I come back, there are 9 comments! I echo others’ thanks for the intro and invite to Ethical ELA, and I also do love this idea of a pile on poem. I feel that both your mentor text and your own poem have some unexpected things in them- delightful!

Comments are closed.