Slice of Life – A Covid-19 Lazy Sonnet

October 3, 2023 TwoWritingTeachers.org

A Covid-19 Lazy Sonnet

virus
fever
iris
griever

scrapheap
headache
asleep
awake

health
capsized
stealth
surprise

BUT feeling
healing

 

Two years ago I wrote a small poem each day in October using a word from the Inktober prompts. I thought I would challenge myself again this year with the new list. Does anyone want to join me?

Small Poems

October 1 – Dream
We
will drift
round our dreams

October 2 – Spiders
Spiders shouldn’t be
sitting by little misses
thinking they can scare
them away. She’ll just grab her
jar and nab those arachnids.

October 3 – Path
Would you take one less traveled?
Or prefer the beaten path?
Both will work–Keep on moving!

October 4 – Dodge
There once was a game of ball
Fun for all, but just don’t fall.
Keep your eye on it
Make your feet fly flit
Dodge it or get yourself mauled.

October 5 – Map
Make
a
Plan


The links above are all to a variety of forms that I used for each #smallpoem.

13 thoughts on “Slice of Life – A Covid-19 Lazy Sonnet

  1. Liked your poems a lot. thank you for the link. Will check it. Regards, Lakshmi

  2. This is a terrific “small” poem. I have to wonder if you had Covid when I read the lines: “health/capsized/stealth surprise.” Whatever it was (hopefully past tense), I’m glad of the “feeling/healing.”

  3. I can understand why you selected a lazy sonnet to write today. I hope you feel better soon!

  4. Inktober is new to me! What great fun – I need to get a move on and join the fun. Sounds like you are sick with Covid – what a bummer. But, a wonderful lazy sonnet! A perfect form when you are feeling unwell. Feel better soon!

  5. Me, me! Pick me! I want to join you. I was just wondering about OctPoWriMo and whether anyone was celebrating it, and you have made the perfect post with a word list to issue the challenge to write. I love this, Denise, along with your poem. Yes, I’m in!

  6. Denise, it appears that even when ill you write an expressive poem!
    And thank you for always and enthusiastically sharing other outlets. I learned of Inktober from my sister in law and I have 2 1/2 little sketches so far. I hadnt thought of using the drawing prompts for writing, but now I think I will put little writing pieces on the backs of my sketchbook pages. Let’s see if I can keep it up! Reading your work is always encouraging.

  7. You say so much with so little. Your poems are a good reminder that sometimes less is more.

  8. I love the expression in this poem – and I really hope you feel better soon!

Comments are closed.