Slice of Life 15 – In Order for Me to Write Poetry #sol24

15 March 2024 TwoWritingTeachers.org

In Order for Me to Write Poetry
I have just to look out my window
The birds are munching their seeds
darting, hustling, swooping, soaring
Chirrupping and cooing to me
and each other
The sun peeks through the clouds
calling me to contemplate peace

In order for me to write poetry
I just sit in silence as I wish
I have enough food
I have clean water to drink
I have the Internet to publish
this poem online if I wish
and paper and pen if I don’t
I even have lots of things I want
and no threat of missiles
coming my way
no warplanes overhead

Can the people of Gaza take
time to write poems today?
Can they look out windows
they no longer have?
Many can’t hear the birds
for the pounding of fear
in their chest is louder
than the birds
The boat of a moon tonight
calls Gaza to break their
fast at افطار Iftar,
but what if there is no food?
How can there be a celebration
when there is no food?
How can there be peace
when there is no hope?


I wrote the poem above after seeing this on Instagram today:

In order for me to write poetry that isn’t political,
I must listen to the birds
and in order to hear the birds
​the warplanes must be silent

~Marwan Makhoul

14 thoughts on “Slice of Life 15 – In Order for Me to Write Poetry #sol24

  1. Denise,
    We are lucky and privileged to live in a place where we can write poetry under the most comfortable circumstances. The situation in Gaza is heartbreaking. I was glad to see Senator Schumer speak out against Netanyahu today. Israel needs new leadership, as many Israelis and Jews around the globe recognize and protest for. There’s a Palestinian man on Threads I follow and whose perspective and analysis on the Israel-Gaza war I value. In part, he says there’s so much blame, and so many victims on both sides. It no longer matters who can trace their history back to whenever, who was there first. They have to find a way to live together in peace. Thats the only way forward.

  2. A post filled with the concerns of many in the world. Your poem captures the yearning of peacemakers everywhere.

  3. Denise, poetry touches places no other writing can touch. What a powerful poem that reminds us how blessed we are to be in a place without missiles overhead. As much as we might complain about things here in our country, we are reminded that others are enduring such hardship and fear. Heartbreaking and haunting – and a spoonful of perspective is all it takes for a mindset shift.

  4. The quote you shared is simply heartbreaking. I’ve tried typing a response again and again and simply can’t find the words. I’m consistently horrified by the violence of humanity toward one another on both a small and large scale. Your poem asks such rending questions.

  5. Denise, you connect your peaceful world with the horrific situation in Gaza effectively. I am deeply moved by your words and reminded of how fortunate I have it to be able to write in peace. Thanks for sharing your wisdom through your powerful poetry!

  6. Very powerful poem, Denise. Your questioning, your personal connection, and then the connection to the world – a world in turmoil.

  7. I saw that post in Instagram as well and it is one which arrests attention. Your poem brings attention to many aspects of being human, attention to sights and sounds of nature – I love these lines:
    “ Chirrupping and cooing to me
    and each other”

    The borrowed lines with the different perspective, you’ve highlighted the importance of paying attention to all of it: the beauty and the devastation.

  8. Gut punch truth, Denise. Sigh. I was thinking of all those trying to fast during Ramadan and how unjust that there is no food when the sun sets.

  9. An especially poignant, bittersweet poem, I think. I, too, feel so much empathy with those in Gaza, wondering how they are accomplishing the most ordinary tasks. You take me past this – are they creating? What allows them hope and joy? An incredible poem, Denise. Thank you so much.

  10. I don’t know what to say, but I wanted you to know I hear this. It won’t let me be—unmoved. Not too many reasons to celebrate in Gaza. Even after the bombardment stops, I fear the travail will continue.

  11. I think of the people in Gaza when I drink clean water, when I shower, when I eat meals and snacks…and now I think of them when I hear birdsong and write poems.

    Thank you for amplifying Marwan Makhoul’s words.

  12. Thank you. My heart has been breaking for months now. I cannot imagine the pain and agony. This poem helps.

  13. Thank you for your lovely poem and the inspiration behind it. It is truly so hard to imagine life in a war zone with no birdsong. I am currently tutoring two young boys who have spent most of their lives in refugee camp. The eyes of the older one are the saddest eyes I’ve ever seen in a child.
    We need to be reminded of the horrors many are living through right now, thank you for the reminder today!

Comments are closed.